University of California, Riverside

Environmental Sciences



Faculty Directory


faculty banner

Michael AndersonMichael Anderson
Professor of Environmental Chemistry

218 Science Lab I
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-3757
E-mail: michael.anderson@ucr.edu

Nutrient cycling in lakes and reservoirs; surface water quality modeling; chemistry of solid-water interfaces.

Kenneth BaerenklauKenneth Baerenklau
Associate Professor of Environmental Economics and Policy

2460D Geology
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-2628
E-mail: kenneth.baerenklau@ucr.edu

Environmental and natural resource economics and policy.

Roya BahreiniRoya Bahreini
Assistant Professor of Atmospheric Science

2318 Geology
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-4506
E-mail: Roya.Bahreini@ucr.edu

Airborne, ground-based, and laboratory measurements of aerosol composition and microphysical properties; Air quality; Aerosol direct- and indirect-effects on climate.

David CrohnDavid Crohn
Associate Professor of Environmental Sciences

2316 Geology
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-3333
E-mail: david.crohn@ucr.edu

Constructed wetlands for wastewater treatment; biosolids management; composting.

David CrowleyDavid Crowley
Professor of Soil Microbiology

318 Science Lab I
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-3785
E-mail: david.crowley@ucr.edu

Bioremediation of PCBs and other organic pollutants, rhizosphere microbiology, and microbial ecology.

Ariel DinarAriel Dinar
Professor of Environmental Economics and Policy

314 Science Lab I
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-4526
E-mail: ariel.dinar@ucr.edu

Water policy, water and the environment, economic incentives, transboundary water management, water institutions, water and strategic behavior; climate change and water resource management.

Jay GanJay Gan
Professor of Environmental Chemistry

210 Science Lab I
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-2712
E-mail: jianying.gan@ucr.edu

Fate, transport, and mitigation of pesticides in the environment; water pollution and prevention.

Robert GrahamRobert Graham

Department Vice Chair

Professor of Soil Mineralogy

2312 Geology
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-3751
E-mail: robert.graham@ucr.edu

Weathering, properties, and behavior of soil minerals; soil genesis; pedologic processes; ecosystem roles of soils and weathered bedrock; wildland soils.

Keith Knapp
Professor of Environmental Economics

2460B Geology
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-4195
E-mail: keith.knapp@ucr.edu

Environmental, agricultural, and natural resource economics.

Daniel SchlenkDaniel Schlenk
Professor of Aquatic Ecotoxicology

316 Science Lab I
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-2018
E-mail: daniel.schlenk@ucr.edu

Fate and effects of pesticides, pharmaceutical and emerging contaminants on fish and wildlife.

Kurt SchwabeKurt Schwabe
Associate Professor of Environmental Economics

2460E Geology
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-2361
E-mail: kurt.schwabe@ucr.edu

Alternative strategies for pollution control; environmental and natural resource valuation.

James SickmanJames Sickman

Department Chair

Professor of Hydrology

2324 Geology
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-4552
E-mail: james.sickman@ucr.edu

Biogeochemistry of rivers, lakes and watershed. Limnology of high elevation and high latitude lakes.

Jiri SimunekJirka Šimunek

Graduate Advisor

Professor of Soil Physics

2320 Geology
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-7854
E-mail: jiri.simunek@ucr.edu

Numerical modeling of vadose zone processes; vadose zone hydrology; soil physics.

Loasheng WuLaosheng Wu
Professor of Soil Physics

2314 Geology
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-4664
E-mail: laosheng.wu@ucr.edu

Irrigation water management; soil physics.

Marylynn YatesMarylynn V Yates
Professor of Environmental Microbiology

312 Science Lab I
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-2358
E-mail: marylynn.yates@ucr.edu

Water and wastewater microbiology; pathogens in groundwater and surface water.

Samantha Ying
Assistant Professor of Soil Biogeochemistry

212 Science Lab I
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone:
E-mail:

Fate, transport, and bioavailability of organic and inorganic compounds in soils

Emeritus Faculty

Chris Amrhein Christopher Amrhein

Professor of Soil Chemistry, Emeritus

University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

E-mail: christopher.amrhein@ucr.edu

Janet AreyJanet Arey
Research Chemist and Professor

University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

E-mail: janet.arey@ucr.edu

Roger AtkinsonRoger Atkinson
Professor of Atmospheric Chemistry, Emeritus

University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

E-mail: roger.atkinson@ucr.edu

Andrew ChangAndrew Chang
Professor, Emeritus

2460M Geology
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-5325
E-mail: andrew.chang@ucr.edu

Walter FarmerWalter Farmer
Professor of Soil Science, Emeritus

University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

E-mail: walter.farmer@ucr.edu

William FrankenbergerWilliam Frankenberger
Distinguished Professor of Soil Microbiology & Biochemistry, Emeritus

University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

E-mail: william.frankenberger@ucr.edu

William JuryWilliam Jury
Distinguished Professor of Soil Physics and Soil Physicist, Emeritus

University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

E-mail: william.jury@ucr.edu

John LeteyJohn Letey
Distinguished Professor of Soil Physics & Soil Physicist, Emeritus

2322 Geology
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

E-mail: john.letey@ucr.edu

Lanny LundLanny Lund
Professor, Emeritus

University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521




James OsterJames Oster
Soil and Water Specialist, Emeritus

University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 909-224-6785
E-mail: james.oster@ucr.edu

Albert PageAlbert Page
Professor, Emeritus

2310 Geology
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-3433
E-mail: albert.page@ucr.edu

David ParkerDavid Parker
Professor of Soil Science, Emeritus

216 Science Lab I
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-5126
E-mail: david.parker@ucr.edu

Soil chemistry and plant nutrition; chemistry and bioavailability of trace elements.

Roberto Sanchez RodríguezRoberto Sánchez-Rodríguez
Professor of Environmental Sciences, Emeritus

University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

E-mail: roberto.rodriguez-sanchez@ucr.edu

Henry Vaux, Jr.Henry Vaux, Jr.
Professor of Resource Economics and Resource Economist, Emeritus Chair, Rosenberg International Forum on Water Policy


University of California, Berkeley
Berkeley, CA

Telephone: 510-232-2340
E-mail: vaux@are.berkeley.edu

Paul ZiemannPaul Ziemann
Professor of Atmospheric Chemistry, Emeritus

University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

E-mail: paul.ziemann@ucr.edu

More Information

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

Department Information

Enviromental Sciences
Geology 2258

Tel: (951) 827-5116
Fax: (951) 827-3993

Footer