University of California, Riverside

Environmental Sciences



Faculty Directory


faculty banner

Research Group
Simone Boudreau, M.S. Student
Miguel Garcia, Ph.D. Student
Jacob Shiba, M.S. Student

Michael AndersonMichael Anderson
Professor of Environmental Chemistry

218 Science Lab I
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-3757
E-mail: michael.anderson@ucr.edu

Nutrient cycling in lakes and reservoirs; surface water quality modeling; chemistry of solid-water interfaces.

Research Group
Justin Dingle, Ph.D. Student
Kennedy Vu, Ph.D. Student
Dominic Chan, Undergraduate Student

Roya BahreiniRoya Bahreini
Assistant Professor of Atmospheric Science

2318 Geology
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-4506
E-mail: Roya.Bahreini@ucr.edu

Airborne, ground-based, and laboratory measurements of aerosol composition and microphysical properties; Air quality; Aerosol direct and indirect effects on climate.

Research Group
Joyce Jong, Ph.D. Student
Namratha Reddy, Postdoc

David CrohnDavid Crohn
Associate Professor of Environmental Sciences

2316 Geology
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-3333
E-mail: david.crohn@ucr.edu

Constructed wetlands for wastewater treatment; biosolids management; composting.

Research Group
Julie Escalera, Ph.D. Student
Lindsey Saum, Ph.D. Student
Jenessa Stemke, Ph.D. Student
Muhammad Azeem, Junior Specialist
Yan He, Visiting Scholar
Jiuhai Li, Visiting Scholar
Daquan Sun, Visiting Scholar
Xuezhu Zhu, Visiting Scholar
Gabriela Velasquez, Undergraduate Student

David CrowleyDavid Crowley
Professor of Soil Microbiology

318 Science Lab I
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-3785
E-mail: david.crowley@ucr.edu

Bioremediation of PCBs and other organic pollutants, rhizosphere microbiology, and microbial ecology.

Research Group
Stacia Dudley, Ph.D. Student
Jaben Richards, Ph.D. Student
Edmond Sanganyado, Ph.D. Student
Allison Taylor, Ph.D. Student
Douglas Wolf, Ph.D. Student
Yuanbo Li, Postdoc
Chunyang Liao, Assistant Specialist
Qiuguo Fu, Visiting Ph.D. Student
Jiaying Xue, Visiting Ph.D. Student
Jianqiang Sun, Visiting Scholar
Anya Baladian, Undergraduate Student

Jay GanJay Gan
Professor of Environmental Chemistry

210 Science Lab I
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-2712
E-mail: jianying.gan@ucr.edu

Fate, transport, and mitigation of pesticides in the environment; water pollution and prevention.

Research Group
Philip Clements, M.S. Student
Amy Salvador, Undergraduate Student

Robert GrahamRobert Graham

Department Vice Chair

Professor of Soil Mineralogy

2312 Geology
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-3751
E-mail: robert.graham@ucr.edu

Weathering, properties, and behavior of soil minerals; soil genesis; pedologic processes; ecosystem roles of soils and weathered bedrock; wildland soils.

Keith Knapp
Professor of Environmental Economics

2460B Geology
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-4195
E-mail: keith.knapp@ucr.edu

Environmental, agricultural, and natural resource economics.

Research Group
Luisa Becker Bertotto, Ph.D. Student
Scott Coffin, Ph.D. Student
Graciel Diamante, Ph.D. Student
Allison Kupsco, Ph.D. Student
Mae Lortie, Ph.D. Student
Aileen Maldonado, Ph.D. Student
Qinming Xie, Visiting Scholar
Flavia Yoshie Yamamoto, Visiting Scholar
Lemairee Eloise, Visiting Student

Daniel SchlenkDaniel Schlenk
Professor of Aquatic Ecotoxicology

316 Science Lab I
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-2018
E-mail: daniel.schlenk@ucr.edu

Fate and effects of pesticides, pharmaceutical and emerging contaminants on fish and wildlife.

Research Group
Jacob Ashford, Ph.D. Student
Pete Homyak, Postdoc
Steve Sadro, Postdoc
Edward Dominguez, Undergraduate Student
Matt Kamiyama, Undergraduate Student
Krystal Vasquez, Undergraduate Student

James SickmanJames Sickman

Department Chair

Professor of Hydrology

2324 Geology
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-4552
E-mail: james.sickman@ucr.edu

Biogeochemistry of rivers, lakes and watershed. Limnology of high elevation and high latitude lakes.

Research Group
Sarah Helalia, Ph.D. Student
Jing Liang, Ph.D. Student
Yuhui Geng, Visiting Scholar
Anne Hartmann, Visiting Scholar
Natalia Kurinova, Visiting Ph.D. Student
Mostafa Moradzadeh, Visiting Scholar
Jianhong Zhou, Visiting Scholar

Jiri SimunekJirka Šimunek

Graduate Advisor

Professor of Soil Physics

2320 Geology
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-7854
E-mail: jiri.simunek@ucr.edu

Numerical modeling of vadose zone processes; vadose zone hydrology; soil physics.

Research Group
Nydia Celis, M.S. Student
Hasnain Farooq, Ph.D. Student
Nancy Phu, M.S. Student
Rebeca Lopez Serna, Postdoc Researcher
Taisheng Du, Visiting Scholar
Jiachun Shi, Visiting Scholar
Travis Hong, Undergraduate Student

Loasheng WuLaosheng Wu
Professor of Soil Physics

2314 Geology
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-4664
E-mail: laosheng.wu@ucr.edu

Irrigation water management; soil physics.

Research Group
Katie Curnyn, M.S. Student
Dane Reano, Ph.D. Student
Daniel Wasik, Ph.D. Student
Vanessa Moresco, Visiting Scholar

Marylynn YatesMarylynn V Yates
Professor of Environmental Microbiology

312 Science Lab I
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-2358
E-mail: marylynn.yates@ucr.edu

Water and wastewater microbiology; pathogens in groundwater and surface water.

Research Group
Amy Salvador, Undergraduate Student

Samantha YingSamantha Ying
Assistant Professor of Soil Biogeochemistry

214 Science Lab I
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-4505
E-mail: samantha.ying@ucr.edu 

Fate, transport, and bioavailability of organic and inorganic compounds in soils

Cooperating Faculty Members

Research Group
Gustavo Mellior, Ph.D. Student

Kenneth BaerenklauKenneth Baerenklau
Associate Professor of Environmental Economics and Policy

2460D Geology
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-2628
E-mail: ken.baerenklau@ucr.edu

Environmental and natural resource economics and policy.

Research Group
Arisha Ashraf, Ph.D. Student
Diti Chatterjee, Ph.D. Student
Uday Jammalamadaka, Ph.D. Student
Sanval Nasim, Ph.D. Student
Edgar Tellez Foster, Ph.D. Student
Salvatore Campisi, Postdoc

Ariel DinarAriel Dinar
Professor of Environmental Economics and Policy

314 Science Lab I
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-4526
E-mail: ariel.dinar@ucr.edu

Water policy, water and the environment, economic incentives, transboundary water management, water institutions, water and strategic behavior; climate change and water resource management.

Research Group
Lucy Levers, Ph.D. Student
Yuhua Xiong, Ph.D. Student

Kurt SchwabeKurt Schwabe
Associate Professor of Environmental Economics

2460E Geology
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-2361
E-mail: kurt.schwabe@ucr.edu

Alternative strategies for pollution control; environmental and natural resource valuation.

Emeritus Faculty

Chris Amrhein Christopher Amrhein
Professor of Soil Chemistry, Emeritus

University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

E-mail: christopher.amrhein@ucr.edu

 

Janet AreyJanet Arey
Research Chemist and Professor, Emeritus

E-mail: janet.arey@ucr.edu

 

 

Roger AtkinsonRoger Atkinson
Distinguished Professor of Atmospheric Chemistry, Emeritus

E-mail: roger.atkinson@ucr.edu

 

Andrew ChangAndrew Chang
Professor, Emeritus

E-mail: andrew.chang@ucr.edu

 

 

Walter FarmerWalter Farmer
Professor of Soil Science, Emeritus

E-mail: walter.farmer@ucr.edu

 

William FrankenbergerWilliam Frankenberger
Distinguished Professor of Soil Microbiology & Biochemistry, Emeritus

E-mail: william.frankenberger@ucr.edu

 

William JuryWilliam Jury
Distinguished Professor of Soil Physics and Soil Physicist, Emeritus

E-mail: william.jury@ucr.edu 

 

Lanny LundLanny Lund
Professor, Emeritus




 

James OsterJames Oster
Soil and Water Specialist, Emeritus

Telephone: 909-224-6785
E-mail: james.oster@ucr.edu

 

Albert PageAlbert Page
Professor, Emeritus

2310 Geology
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-3433
E-mail: albert.page@ucr.edu

David ParkerDavid Parker
Professor of Soil Science, Emeritus

206 Science Lab I
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Telephone: 951-827-5126
E-mail: david.parker@ucr.edu

Roberto Sanchez RodríguezRoberto Sánchez-Rodríguez
Professor of Environmental Sciences, Emeritus

E-mail: roberto.rodriguez-sanchez@ucr.edu

 

Henry Vaux, Jr.Henry Vaux, Jr.
Professor of Resource Economics and Resource Economist, Emeritus Chair, Rosenberg International Forum on Water Policy

University of California, Berkeley
Berkeley, CA

Telephone: 510-232-2340
E-mail: vaux@are.berkeley.edu

Paul ZiemannPaul Ziemann
Professor of Atmospheric Chemistry, Emeritus


E-mail: paul.ziemann@ucr.edu

 

In Memoriam

John LeteyJohn Letey (1933 - 2014)
Distinguished Professor of Soil Physics & Soil Physicist

 "Letey was instrumental in establishing the Environmental Sciences undergraduate major at UCR, which was among the first of its kind in the United States." - In Memoriam: John Letey

More Information

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

Department Information

Environmental Sciences
Geology 2258

Tel: (951) 827-5116
Fax: (951) 827-3993

Footer